Shameen, who once called the Cuizhou, is a sandbank formed by the alluvial deposit of the Pearl River. The sand surface is located in the southwestern part of Guangzhou City, Guangdong Province, south of the Pearl River Baietan, north of Shajiyong, a small island facing the Liu Er San Road, with eight large and small streets and an area of 0.3 square kilometers. In the Song, Yuan, Ming and Qing Dynasties, the sand surface was used for trade and tourism in China and abroad. After the Opium War, after the 11th year of Qing Xianfeng (1861), it became the British and French concessions.
Shameen is an important commercial port in Guangzhou. After more than 100 years, more than ten countries have established consulates in the sand, nine foreign banks, more than 40 foreign banks operating in the sand, and the Guangdong Customs Club and the Guangzhou Club have been established in the sand. The sand surface witnessed the changes of Guangzhou's modern history, leaving behind the footprints of great people such as Sun Yat-sen and Premier Zhou Enlai. The sand surface has become the epitome of China's modern history and the history of the concession. The European-style buildings on the island of Shamian have formed a unique open-air building. museum". It has been developed into a national 5A level scenic spot and is a famous tourist area, scenic spot and leisure resort in Guangzhou.
Lutheran Catholic Church
The Church of Our Lady of Lourdes belongs to the French Concession, formerly known as the Shamian Catholic Church. It is named after the original building of the Madonna on the south side of the garden and the statue of the Madonna. It was established by the religious staff of the French Consulate in Guangzhou. The church is located at the northeast corner of the intersection of Shamian Street and Shamian Street. It consists of the lobby, the priest building, the nuns building, and the Madonna. The lobby is in front, the priest building is in the back east, the nun building is in the west, and the Madonna is east in the lobby. There are two existing annex buildings, one is a two-storey building and the other is a bungalow. The church is basically well preserved.
Guangdong Foreign Affairs Museum
The Guangdong Foreign Affairs Museum is the first local foreign affairs museum in the country. It is located at No. 20 South Street, Shamian, Guangzhou. It is a Baroque building built in 1890. It was originally the French Consulate in Guangzhou during the Republic of China. It is a part of the sand-faced complex. Cultural relics, national key cultural relics protection units.
Sandy Christ Church
The Chapel of Christ Church is a church dedicated to foreign worship in the British Concession in the sand. It is located in the 5th Street of Shamian and was built in 1864. Located at the western end of the concession, it is managed by the Chinese Sheng Kung Hui Hong Kong and Guangdong Diocese. It has been hosted by a British pastor and worshipped in English. Since the Sands Christ Church has preserved a complete century-old Christian building for Guangzhou, many newcomers are married in Guangzhou and will use it as one of the must-see attractions for wedding photos.
The Customs House is a building within the French Concession and was used as a customs building. Before the liberation, the "Red House" was the Guangdong Customs Club. Only middle and senior officials were eligible to stay. After liberation, it was used as a customs staff quarters. The building was designed and built by the architect Paine from Australia. The building faces south and is located at the eastern end of Shamian Street. It is a landmark building on the sand because of its special location and the unique shape and distinctive color of the building.
The original HSBC Bank is located at the northeast corner of the intersection of Shamian Street and Shamian Street. The building plane is a north-south rectangle, and the southeast and southwest are chamfered. The entrance and exit of the lower section adopts the western gray-white granite classical mountain flower door, and the radial decorative line is drawn above the mountain flower door. In order to be bilaterally symmetrical, three windows are also made into a mountain door shape. Large round windows are opened in the upper part of other long-shaped windows. The corner of the wall is gray-white granite, the wall of the window is covered with granite-like stone, and the horizontal lines resemble classically stacked boulders.
The Soviet Consulate is located at No. 68, Shamian Street. It is a three-storey building with brick and reinforced concrete structures. It faces south and is Victorian in the UK. The main building of the former Soviet consulate has a small courtyard and a wall. The façade and the east and west sides of the façade are provided with a veranda, and the second floor of the rear façade is provided with a cantilevered balcony and a concrete bridge leading to the auxiliary building.
Take the exit of the Huangsha Station Exit F and take the Exit A of the Metro Culture Park Station.
You can take bus 1, 9, 57, 123, 188, 208, 209, 217, 219, 236, 270, 297, 538, 552 at the station of Liu Er San Road, or take bus 81, 102.103.105, 106, 110, 238, 538 are stationed under the Cultural Park.