Guangzhou Shishi Sacred Heart Cathedral is located in the center of Guangzhou City, Yide Road. The Sacred Heart Cathedral officially held its groundbreaking ceremony on the Sacred Heart Day on June 18, 1863, hence the name Sacred Heart Cathedral. It was built in 25 years and is the most magnificent and characteristic cathedral in the Catholic Diocese of Guangzhou. Shishi Sacred Heart Cathedral was designed by French designers and built by Chinese artisans.
The total building area of the church is 2,754 square meters, 35 meters wide from east to west, 78.69 meters long from north to south, and 58.5 meters high from the ground to the spire. Shishi Sacred Heart Cathedral was built in 1861 with a cost of 400,000 francs. It is comparable to the world famous Notre Dame de Paris. .
Shishi Sacred Heart Cathedral is one of the most cathedrals in the Catholic Diocese of Guangzhou. It is one of the most magnificent double-tower Gothic buildings in the country. It is the largest stone-structured Catholic building in Southeast Asia and one of the four stone-built Gothic church buildings in the world (the other three) It is the Notre Dame de Paris, Westminster Abbey, Cologne Cathedral. Since the walls and pillars of the church are made of granite, it is also called the "stone chamber" or the "stone chamber of the Sacred Heart of Jesus". Stone Chamber Catholic Church." In 1996, it was announced as a national key cultural relics protection unit. It is a key cultural relics protection unit in Guangdong Province.
The original Sacred Heart Church covers an area of more than 6,000 square meters. In addition to the church, there are hospitals, seminaries and primary and secondary schools. There are existing churches, bishops and ancestral halls. The square is in front of the shops. Folk house. The church is in the shape of a Latin cross, sitting north to south and divided into three levels.
There are 3 arched vouchers on the bottom floor. There are 7 pairs of columns and 7 layers of pointed ribs that are retreated in layers. The central part of the center has a rose window with a diameter of 6 meters and a stonework hollow. The "Jenuslem1863" and "Roma1863" Latin are engraved on the sides of the wall on both sides of the east and west.
The real command of the church was completed by the stone craftsman of the Jiantian Village, Jiexiping Town, Guangdong Province, and the Hakka family Cai Xiao, who saw the strange Gothic architecture and incorporated many Chinese elements. The whole church was built using Chinese soil method glutinous rice tung oil instead of cement, which is both waterproof and firm. The dome stone is also worn from the middle hole and the iron hole is worn. This is more firm, the water outlet of the church roof, It has also been changed into a Chinese lion shape, and the floor has also been changed from the originally designed stone to the Guangdong big-order brick, so that the moisture resistance is better, and the door is also engraved with a wide-style wood carving.
Subway: Metro Line 6 to Yide Road Station Exit A is 470 meters walk; Metro Line 2 to Haizhu Square Station B2 exit is 590 meters walk.
Bus route: 4 roads; 8 roads; 61 roads; 82 roads; 86 roads; 823 roads; Night 16 roads; Night 33 roads; Night 6 roads to Yidezhong Road station.