Sun Yat-sen University

Sun Yat-sen University, SYSU, referred to as "Zhongda", was founded by Mr. Sun Yat-sen. It has a tradition of more than 100 years of schooling and is the base for scientific research, cultural scholarship and talent cultivation in southern China.

Sun Yat-sen University is directly under the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China and is directly under the central government. It is the national key university jointly established by the Ministry of Education, the National Defense Science and Technology Industry Bureau and Guangdong Province. It is ranked among the first batch of national “double-class” Class A and “ The 985 Project and the 211 Project were selected for the Everest Project. The school has become a first-class, internationally renowned modern comprehensive university and is striving to become a global academic center.

The school has 18 subject areas to enter the top 1% of the ESI world, and the number of subject areas ranks second in domestic universities, of which 14 subject areas are in the top 0.5%, and 2 subject areas are in the top 0.1%. In the third round of national disciplinary assessments, 16 of the 33 subject disciplines entered the top 5 of the rankings, and 32 subjects entered the top 10 of the rankings.

There are 20 academicians (including double hires), 119 national “Thousand Talents” experts, 46 “Changjiang Scholars” special professors, 14 “Changjiang Scholars” young scholars and 81 National Outstanding Youth Science Fund winners. There are 28 national-level candidates, 170 new-generation talent support programs of the Ministry of Education, and 20 chief scientists who have hosted the “973” project and major scientific research projects. It has 10 national-level talent training bases, and many undergraduate majors such as economic management have passed domestic and international certification. The school is composed of three campuses, five campuses and ten affiliated hospitals in Guangzhou Campus, Zhuhai Campus and Shenzhen Campus.

In 1954, the only language department in the country was adjusted from Zhongshan University to Peking University. Professor Wang Li, the head of the language department, led the whole group of 48 students to move out. The Institute of Botany of Sun Yat-sen University is placed under the administration of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (now South China Botanical Garden). At the same time, the former Wuhan University, Hunan University, Guangxi University, Nanchang University, Huazhong Normal University, Guangdong Law School of Business (now Guangdong University of Finance and Economics) and other institutions of the relevant departments of the Department of teachers and students transferred to Sun Yat-sen University.

On November 3, 2015, Sun Yat-sen University and Shenzhen Municipal Government held a signing ceremony for the establishment of a strategic cooperation agreement for world-class universities, which marked the official launch of Sun Yat-sen University Shenzhen Campus. Sun Yat-Sen University Shenzhen Campus is located in Guangming New District of Shenzhen. The campus covers an area of ​​about 5,000 acres. It is one of the main campuses of Sun Yat-sen University and forms the “three campuses and five campuses”. In July 2018, the National Defense Science and Technology Industry Bureau and the Ministry of Education jointly issued a document to determine the establishment of eight new universities during the 13th Five-Year Plan period. Sun Yat-sen University was among them. On August 31, 2018, Sun Yat-sen University announced the official establishment of the Agricultural College.

As of June 2018, Sun Yat-Sen University Library has a total construction area of ​​110,000 square meters, with a collection of 703,370 copies of paper collections, 1,203,500 e-books, 120,500 electronic journals, 738 databases, and audio and video resources. 21.32 million hours. The school has built a large-scale, domestically leading campus network covering four campuses. The Internet IPv4 export bandwidth is 21.52 Gbps, and the IPv6 export bandwidth is 1 Gbps. The campus wireless network covers 180 buildings and deploys about 12,000 wireless access points. The Sun Yat-sen University Library is the China Higher Education Document Security System (CALIS) South China Regional Center, CALIS Digital Library Base, China University Humanities and Social Sciences Documentation Center (CASHL) South China Regional Center, and one of the 16 liberal arts literature information centers of the Ministry of Education.

Sun Yat-sen University has five campuses with three campuses, with a total area of ​​9.305 square kilometers, located in Guangzhou, Zhuhai and Shenzhen. The South Campus of the Guangzhou Campus covers an area of ​​1.208 square kilometers. The North Campus of the Guangzhou Campus covers an area of ​​0.203 square kilometers. The East Campus of the Guangzhou Campus covers an area of ​​0.989 square kilometers. The Zhuhai Campus covers an area of ​​3.571 square kilometers. The Shenzhen Campus covers an area of ​​3.333 square kilometers.

Read 165 times

Recommend Content

  • Yangshuo West Street
    Yangshuo West Street Yangshuo West Street is a pedestrian street in Yangshuo County, Guilin City, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region. Located in the center…
  • Yulong River
    Yulong River Yulong River is the longest tributary of the Minjiang River in Yangshuo. It has a total length of 43.5 kilometers…
  • Yu Garden
    Yu Garden Yu Garden is located in the northeast of Shanghai's old city, with Fuyou Road in the north, Anren Street in…

Latest Content

Recommend Content

  • The Forbidden City
    The Forbidden City The Forbidden City in Beijing is the royal palace of the Ming and Qing Dynasties in China. It was formerly known as the Forbidden City. It is located in the center of Beijing's central axis and is the essence of ancient Chinese palace architecture. The Forbidden City in Beijing is…
  • Jingtu Mountain Scenic Area
    Jingtu Mountain Scenic Area Jingtu Mountain Scenic Area is 2 kilometers away from Huaiyuan County. It was under the jurisdiction of Macheng District of Huaiyuan County from 1985 to 1991. It was called Shanghong Commune. In 1992, it was subordinated to the township of Huaiyuan County before May 2004. Jingtu Mountain Scenic Area Jingping…
    Tags: Mountain
  • Yuehui Garden
    Yuehui Garden Yuehui Garden is a large private garden located in Dongguan, Guangdong Province. It is a masterpiece of Lingnan Garden. There are 108 garden attractions such as pavilions, pavilions, otters, curved corridors, stone bridges and rockeries. The waterways in the park are looped back and forth, and the various scenic spots…
  • Dayan Pagoda
    Dayan Pagoda Dayan Pagoda is located in the Dacien Temple of Jinchangfang (now Xi'an, Shaanxi Province) in Chang'an City, also known as the "Cien Temple Tower". In the third year of Tang Yonghui (652), Xuanzang hosted the construction of Dayan Pagoda for the preservation of the Buddha statues brought back to Chang'an…
    Tags: Pagoda Xi'an
  • Wangfujing Street
    Wangfujing Street Wangfujing Pedestrian Street is a famous commercial district with a long history of hundreds of years. It enjoys the reputation of Jinjie in Beijing, with a passenger flow of about 600,000 people/day and more than 1.2 million people on holidays. Wangfujing street is one of Beijing's most famous shopping streets.Much…